Skip to content

Moonbeam上的随机数

Randomness Moonbeam Banner

概览

对于多种区块链应用创建无争议、无法预测且独特结果来说,随机数是必要元素。然而,获得稳定的随机数来源是一个挑战。计算机具有确定性,也就是当您给它同样的输入,会获得同样的输出。因此,计算机生成的随机数被称为伪随机,因为它们看起来是统计随机的,但在相同的输入下,输出很容易重复。

Moonbeam使用可验证随机函数(Verifiable Random Functions,VRF)生成可以在链上验证的随机数。VRF是一种利用一些输入值并产生随机数的加密函数,并证明这些数值是由提交者生成。此证明可以由任何人验证,以确保生成的随机数值经过准确的运算。

目前有两种提供随机输入的可用随机数来源,分别基于区块生产者的VRF私钥以及过去的随机数结果:本地VRFBABE Epoch随机数。本地VRF在Moonbeam中使用区块的VRF私钥以及最新区块的VRF输出值决定。而BABE Epoch随机数基于所有由中继链验证人在完整Epoch期间生产的VRF{target=_blank}。

您可以使用随机数预编译合约,一个允许智能合约开发者通过以太坊API访问随机数功能的Solidity接口,访问和请求链上随机数。关于预编译合约的更多信息,请查看与随机数预编译交互教程。您同样可以查看随机数Pallet页面,可用于获得当前的随机数请求和结果。

一般定义

  • Epoch - 在BABE协议被分为更小时间Slot的时间周期。Slot是长度为六秒的离散时间单位。在波卡上,一个Epoch大约持续2,400个Slot或4小时。在Kusama 上,一个Epoch大约持续600个Slot或1小时。
  • Deposit - 请求随机词所需的保证金数量。每个请求需要一笔保证金,要求完成后,保证金将会退还到请求随机数的账户之中
  • Block expiration delay - 在本地VRF请求过期并被清除前必须经过的区块数量
  • Epoch expiration delay - 在BABE要求过期并被清除前必须经过的Epoch数量
  • Minimum block delay - 在本地VRF请求被完成前的最小区块数量
  • Maximum block delay - 在本地VRF请被完成前的最大区块数量
  • Maximum random words - 最大可被请求的随机词数量
  • Epoch fulfillment delay - 能够在BABE请求被完成前延迟的Epoch数量

快速参考

Variable Value
保证金 1 GLMR
区块过期延迟 10000区块
Epoch过期延迟 10000 Epochs
最小区块延迟 2区块
最大区块延迟 2000区块
最大随机词数量 100词
Epoch完成延迟 2 Epochs(跟随当前的)
Variable Value
保证金 1 MOVR
区块过期延迟 10000区块
Epoch过期延迟 10000 Epochs
最小区块延迟 2区块
最大区块延迟 2000区块
最大随机词数量 100词
Epoch完成延迟 2 Epochs(跟随当前的)
变量
保证金 1 DEV
区块过期延迟 10000区块
Epoch过期延迟 10000 Epochs
最小区块延迟 2区块
最大区块延迟 2000区块
最大随机词数量 100词
Epoch完成延迟 2 Epochs(跟随当前的)

本地VRF

本地VRF随机数是在区块开始时使用前一个区块的VRF输出值以及当前区块作者的VRF私钥的公钥逐块生成的。生成的随机数结果被存储并用于满足当前区块的所有随机数请求。

您可以使用随机数预编译requestLocalVRFRandomWords函数请求本地VRF随机数。

如果您的合约能够打开并发请求,您可以使用从requestLocalVRFRandomWords方法获得的requestId来跟踪哪个获得的值与哪个随机请求相关。

BABE Epoch随机数

BABE Epoch随机数基于上一个中继链Epoch中产生区块的VRF值的哈希。在波卡上,Epoch 持续大约4小时,在Kusama上,Epoch持续大约 1时。哈希将在中继链上完成,因此,Moonbeam上的收集人不可能影响随机数值,除非他们也是中继链上的验证者并负责生成包含在一个Epoch的最后一个输出之中。

随机数将会在一个Epoch中保持稳定,因此如果一个收集人人跳过区块生产,下个收集人能够使用同一个随机数完成它。

您可以使用随机数预编译requestRelayBabeEpochRandomWords函数请求BABE Epoch随机数。要生产独特的随机数,您需要提供不同的salt给requestRelayBabeEpochRandomWords函数。

在每个中继链Epoch更换的开始时,前一个Epoch的随机数将会自中继链证明中读取,并用于完成在当前区块所有的随机数请求。

请求和完成过程

一般而言,随机数的请求和完成过程如下:

  1. 支付保证金以请求随机词
  2. 使用本地VRF或BABE Epoch随机数来源请求,当在请求时您可以设定以下事项:
    • 一个接收多余费用的退款地址
    • 为完成请求所预留的费用。如果指定金额不够,您可以随时增加请求费用,或者如果超过,您将在请求完成后将多余的费用退还到指定地址
    • 一个用于生产不同随机词的独特salt
    • 您希望请求的随机词数量
    • 对于本地VRF而言,区块的延迟时间用于提供不可预测性,需要在先前列出的最大和最小区块之间。至于BABE Epoch随机数,您不需要设定延迟但您可以在Epoch延迟通过后完成请求
  3. 等待延迟期间经过
  4. 满足随机数请求,也就是触发当前区块的随机数结果和给定的salt来计算随机词。这可以由任何人使用最初为请求预留的费用手动完成
  5. 对于已完成的请求,将会获得生成随机词且执行的费用将会被退还至提交完成请求的地址。接着任何执行费用和要求保证金将会被转移回指定的退费地址

如果请求过期则可以由任何人都清除。在发生这种情况时,请求费用将转移到发起清除的地址,并将押金退还给原始请求者。

随机数请求的流程如下所示:

Randomness request happy path diagram

安全考虑

能够直接调用fulfillRandomness函数的函数可以用任何随机数欺骗VRF结果,因此请注意,只能由RandomnessConsumer.sol合约的rawFulfillRandomness函数直接调用它。

为了让您的用户相信您合约的随机行为不会受恶意干扰,您最好编写它以便让VRF结果指示的所有行为您的 fulfillRandomness函数期间执行。如果你的合约必须存储结果(或任何衍生物)并在以后使用它,您必须确保任何依赖于该存储值的用户重要行为不能被后续的VRF请求操纵。

相同地,收集人对VRF结果出现在区块链上的顺序有部分影响,所以如果当您的合约可能有多个VRF请求在运行,您必须确保VRF结果到达的顺序不能被用来操纵您合约的用户重要行为。

由于requestLocalVRFRandomWords生成的随机词输出取决于在完成时生成区块的收集人,而收集人可以跳过它的区块,强制由不同的收集人完成执行,并生成不同的 VRF。然而,这样的攻击会产生失去区块奖励的成本,转而支付给收集人。同样地,如果请求和完成之间的延迟太短,收集人也可以预测VRF的部分可能结果。因此,您可以选择提供更高的延迟。

由于requestRelayBabeEpochRandomWords生成的随机词的输出仰赖于中继链验证器在一个Epoch期间生成的区块,因此一个Epoch的最后一个验证人可以通过跳过区块的生成在两个可能的VRF输出值之间进行选择。但是,这样的攻击会导致将区块奖励支付给验证人的成本。所以,只要有一个诚实的收集人,平行链收集人就不可能预测或影响中继链VRF的输出,而不是审查完成情况。

Skip to content

Randomness on Moonbeam

Randomness Moonbeam Banner

Introduction

Randomness is necessary for a variety of blockchain applications to create unbiased, unpredictable, and unique outcomes. However, obtaining a reliable source of randomness is a challenge. Computers are deterministic, meaning given the same input, the same output will always be produced. Therefore, random values generated by computers are referred to as pseudo-random as they appear to be statistically random, but given the same input, the output can easily be repeated.

Moonbeam utilizes verifiable random functions (VRF) to generate randomness that can be verified on-chain. A VRF is a cryptographic function that takes some input and produces random values, along with a proof of authenticity that these random values were generated by the submitter. The proof can be verified by anyone to ensure the random values generated were calculated correctly.

There are two available sources of randomness that provide random inputs based on block producers' VRF keys and past randomness results: local VRF and BABE epoch randomness. Local VRF is determined directly within Moonbeam using the collator of the block's VRF key and the last block's VRF output. On the other hand, BABE epoch randomness is based on all the VRF produced by the relay chain validators during a complete epoch.

You can interact with and request on-chain randomness using the randomness precompile contract, a Solidity interface that enables smart contract developers to access the randomness functionality through the Ethereum API. For more information, please check out the Interacting with the Randomness Precompile guide. You can also take a look at the Randomness Pallet, which can be used to obtain current randomness requests and results.

General Definitions

  • Epoch - a time duration in the BABE protocol that is broken into smaller time slots. Slots are discrete units of time six seconds in length. On Polkadot, one epoch lasts approximately 2,400 slots or 4 hours. On Kusama, one epoch lasts approximately 600 slots or 1 hour.
  • Deposit - an amount of funds required to request random words. There is one deposit per request. Once the request has been fulfilled, the deposit will be returned to the account that requested the randomness
  • Block expiration delay - the number of blocks that must pass before a local VRF request expires and can be purged
  • Epoch expiration delay - the number of epochs that must pass before a BABE request expires and can be purged
  • Minimum block delay - the minimum number of blocks before a request can be fulfilled for local VRF requests
  • Maximum block delay - the maximum number of blocks before a request can be fulfilled for local VRF requests
  • Maximum random words - the maximum number of random words being requested
  • Epoch fulfillment delay - the delay in epochs before a request can be fulfilled for a BABE request

Quick Reference

Variable Value
Deposit 1 GLMR
Block expiration delay 10000 blocks
Epoch expiration delay 10000 epochs
Minimum block delay 2 blocks
Maximum block delay 2000 blocks
Maximum random words 100 words
Epoch fulfillment delay 2 epochs (following the current one)
Variable Value
Deposit 1 MOVR
Block expiration delay 10000 blocks
Epoch expiration delay 10000 epochs
Minimum block delay 2 blocks
Maximum block delay 2000 blocks
Maximum random words 100 words
Epoch fulfillment delay 2 epochs (following the current one)
Variable Value
Deposit 1 DEV
Block expiration delay 10000 blocks
Epoch expiration delay 10000 epochs
Minimum block delay 2 blocks
Maximum block delay 2000 blocks
Maximum random words 100 words
Epoch fulfillment delay 2 epochs (following the current one)

Local VRF

Local VRF randomness is generated on a block-by-block basis at the beginning of the block using the previous block's VRF output along with the public key of the current block author's VRF key. The generated randomness result is stored and used to fulfill all randomness requests for the current block.

You can request local VRF randomness using the requestLocalVRFRandomWords method of the randomness precompile.

If your contract could have concurrent requests open, you can use the requestId returned from the requestLocalVRFRandomWords method to track which response is associated with which randomness request.

BABE Epoch Randomness

BABE epoch randomness is based on a hash of the VRF values from the blocks produced in the relay chain epoch before last. On Polkadot, an epoch lasts for roughly 4 hours, and on Kusama, an epoch lasts for roughly 1 hour. The hashing is completed on the relay chain, and as such, it is not possible for a collator on Moonbeam to influence the randomness value unless they are also a validator on the relay chain and were responsible for producing the last output included in an epoch.

The randomness is constant during a full epoch, so if a collator skips block production, the next collator can fulfill it with the same random value.

You can request BABE epoch randomness using the requestRelayBabeEpochRandomWords method of the randomness precompile. In order to generate unique randomness, a different salt must be provided to the requestRelayBabeEpochRandomWords function.

At the beginning of each relay chain epoch change, the randomness from one epoch ago is read from the relay chain state proof and used to fulfill all randomness requests that are due in the current block.

Request & Fulfill Process

In general, the request and fulfill process for randomness is as follows:

  1. Pay the deposit required to request random words
  2. Request the randomness either using the local VRF or BABE epoch source of randomness. When requesting randomness you'll need to specify a few things:

    • a refund address where any excess fees will be sent to
    • the amount of fees which will be set aside to pay for fulfillment. If the specified amount is not enough you can always increase the request fees later, or if it's more than enough you'll be refunded the excess fees to the specified address after fulfillment
    • a unique salt that will be used to generate different random words
    • the number of random words you would like to request
    • for local VRF, the delay period in blocks, which is used to increase unpredictability. It must be between the minimum and maximum number of blocks as listed above. For BABE epoch randomness, you do not need to specify a delay but can fulfill the request after the epoch delay has passed
  3. Wait for the delay period to pass

  4. Fulfill the randomness request, which triggers the random words to be computed using the current block's randomness result and the given salt. This can manually be done by anyone using the fee that was initially set aside for the request
  5. For fulfilled requests, the random words are returned and the cost of execution will be refunded from the request fee to the address that initiated the fulfillment. Then any excess fees and the request deposit are transferred to the specified refund address

If a request expires it can be purged by anyone. When this happens, the request fee is paid out to the address that initiated the purge and the deposit is returned to the original requester.

The happy path for a randomness request is shown in the following diagram:

Randomness request happy path diagram

Security Considerations

A method with the ability to call your fulfillRandomness method directly could spoof a VRF response with any random value, so it's critical that it can only be directly called by the RandomnessConsumer.sol contract's rawFulfillRandomness method.

For your users to trust that your contract's random behavior is free from malicious interference, it's best if you can write it so that all behaviors implied by a VRF response are executed during your fulfillRandomness method. If your contract must store the response (or anything derived from it) and use it later, you must ensure that any user-significant behavior which depends on that stored value cannot be manipulated by a subsequent VRF request.

Similarly, the collators have some influence over the order in which VRF responses appear on the blockchain, so if your contract could have multiple VRF requests in flight simultaneously, you must ensure that the order in which the VRF responses arrive cannot be used to manipulate your contract's user-significant behavior.

Since the output of the random words generated for requestLocalVRFRandomWords is dependent on the collator producing the block at fulfillment, the collator could skip its block, forcing the fulfillment to be executed by a different collator and therefore generating a different VRF. However, such an attack would incur the cost of losing the block reward to the collator. It is also possible for a collator to be able to predict some of the possible outcome of the VRF if the delay between the request and the fulfillment is too short. It is for this reason that you can choose to provide a higher delay.

Since the output of the random words generated for requestRelayBabeEpochRandomWords is dependent on the relay chain validator producing the blocks during an epoch, it is possible for the last validator of an epoch to choose between two possible VRF outputs by skipping the production of a block. However, such an attack would incur the cost of losing the block reward to the validator. It is not possible for a parachain collator to predict or influence the output of the relay chain VRF, not to censor the fulfillment, as long as there is one honest collator.