Skip to content

跨共识信息格式(XCM)

XCM Overview Banner

概览

波卡的架构使平行链能够原生地与其他平行链互操作,允许任何种类数据和资产的跨链传递。

为实现跨链传递功能,跨共识信息格式(XCM)格式定义了一种围绕如何在两个互操作区块链间执行传递信息的表达语言。XCM并不限制于波卡内,其目标是成为两个共识系统间的通用和可扩展性语言。

此页面是XCM和其相关定义的简要介绍和概述。更多信息可以在 Polkadot 的 Wiki中找到。

General XCM Definitions

  • XCM — 代表跨共识信息,是共识系统相互通信的信息格式
  • VMP — 代表垂直消息传递,它允许平行链与中继链交换消息。UMP(向上消息传递)允许平行链将消息发送到它们的中继链,而 DMP(向下消息传递)允许中继链将消息向下传递到它们的平行链之一
  • XCMP — 代表跨共识消息传递,它允许平行链与同一中继链上的其他平行链交换消息
  • HRMP — 代表平行中继路由消息传递,是启动完整XCMP实现前的过度实现方式。与XCMP具有相同的接口,但消息存储在中继链上
  • 主权账户 — 生态系统中每条链预设的账户,用于中继链和其他平行链。它的地址为特定单词和平行链ID连接的 blake2 哈希(中继链中的主权账户为blake2(para+ParachainID),其他中的主权账户为blake2(sibl+ParachainID)平行链),将哈希截断为正确的长度。该帐户归root所支配,只能通过SUDO(如果有)或民主(技术委员会或公民投票)使用。主权账户通常在其它链上签署 XCM 消息
  • Multilocation — 一种指定整个中继链或平行链生态系统中来源点(相对或绝对来源)的方式;例如,它可用于指定特定的平行链、资产、账户,甚至是一个Pallet。一般而言,multilocation定义包含为parentsinteriorparents是指需要从来源点“跳跃”多少次可以进入parent区块链。interior,是指定义目标点需要多少个字段。例如,要从另一个平行链中定位ID为1000的平行链,multilocation将是 { "parents": 1, "interior": { "X1": [{ "Parachain": 1000 }]}}

XCM Instructions

XCM消息包含一系列由跨共识虚拟机(XCVM)执行的操作/指令。一个操作(例如,将一个代币从一个区块链转移到另一个区块链)由XCVM在源链和目标链中部分执行的指令组成。

例如,一条将DOT从Polkadot转帐到Moonbeam的XCM消息将包括以下XCM指令(按此顺序),这些指令部分在Polkadot上执行,部分在Moonbeam上执行:

  1. TransferReserveAsset — 在Polkadot执行
  2. ReserveAssetDeposited — 在Moonbeam执行
  3. ClearOrigin — 在Moonbeam执行
  4. BuyExecution — 在Moonbeam执行
  5. DepositAsset — 在Moonbeam执行

XCM传递协议

波卡实现两个跨共识或传递协议,用于其组成的平行链中以处理XCM消息,而Moonbeam是其中之一:

  • 垂直信息传递(VMP) —— 分为两种信息传递协议:
  • 向上信息传递(UMP) —— 允许平行链传递信息至中继链,如Moonbeam传递信息至波卡
  • 向下信息传递(DMP) —— 允许中继链将信息向下传递到其连接的平行链,例如从波卡到Moonbeam

  • 跨链信息传递(XCMP) —— 在连接至同一个中继链的情况下,允许两个平行链相互交换信息。跨链交易使用基于Merkle Tree的基础排队机制以确保真确度。收集人在平行链间交换信息,而中继链验证人将会对这些信息进行验证。

注意事项

目前,XCMP仍在开发当中。当前暂时使用称为水平中继路由信息传递(HRMP)进行传递,信息将会在中继链存储和读取,此协议将会在XCMP完整部署后弃用。

Vertical Message Passing and Cross-chain Message Passing Overview

除此之外,至少在XCM信息实现的早期阶段,有两个最常见的用例:

  • 资产传送 —— 通过销毁在初始区块链的资产并在目标链上创建相应数量的资产以将资产从一个区块链转移到另外一个区块链。在此情况下,每条链都将使用原生资产作为储备,类似于销毁铸造的桥接机制。此模式需要一定程度的信任,因为两条链中的任何一条都有可能恶意铸造更多资产
  • 远程转移 —— 通过在初始区块链上由目标区块链所拥有的中间账户将资产转移至目标区块链。此中间账户称为“主权”账户。在此情况下,原本链上的资产将不会被销毁,而是由主权账户持有。而XCM的执行将会在目标链上铸造包装(又称“虚拟”或是“跨链”资产)的相应资产至目标地址。此包装资产将能够永远以1:1的比例与原生资产兑换。此机制类似于锁仓铸造或是销毁解锁的桥接机制

Asset Teleporting and Remote Transfers

关于更多XCM的细节相关文章请访问Polkadot Wiki

目前Moonbeam仅支持远程转账。所有在Moonbeam上的跨链资产将以xc + TokenName的形式呈现。举例而言,波卡的DOT将会以 xcDOT 在Moonbeam上呈现,而Kusama的KSM将会以 xcKSM 在Moonriver上呈现。关于XC-20标准的更多内容请查看这里

开发者必须了解错误的XCM信息可能导致资产流失。因此,在部署至真实经济环境之前,开发者必须先在测试网测试XCM功能。

频道注册

在两条链开始进行沟通信息之前,必须先建立一个信息频道。信息频道不具有双向性,代表从A链至B链的信息频道只能将信息从A链传送至B链。于是,资产转移也仅限从A链转移至B链。因此,如需要双向传递信息必须开启两个信息频道。

中继链和平行链之间的XCM信息频道已在连接时自动成立。然而,如果平行链A希望与平行链B之间建立信息频道,平行链A必须在其网络中发送一个开启频道的函数,此函数同时也属于XCM的一部分。此XCM消息至少包含以下XCM 指令(按特定顺序):

  1. WithdrawAsset
  2. BuyExecution
  3. Transact

在这里,Transact 将包含编码的呼叫数据,以在中继链中执行打开频道和接受频道操作。交易也可以包括额外的指令来退还执行期间未消耗的G资产。

发送到中继链的XCM消息至少包括以下信息:

  • 信息被执行的地点(在此以中继链为例)
  • 支付相关费用的账户(使用中继链Token支付)
  • 交易被执行时可使用的费用
  • 编码调用数据,通过模仿中继链上的函数取得,包含以下编码信息:
    • 于中继链上被调用的方法(开启信息频道)
    • 目标区块链的平行链ID(在此以B平行链为例)
    • 于目标点信息队列的最大信息数量
    • 可发送的最大信息大小

交易费用将以中继链的跨链资产(xc)形式(xcRelayChainAsset)支付。以波卡和Moonbeam为例,交易费用将会以 xcDOT 支付,而以Kusama和Moonriver为例,交易费用将会以 xcKSM 支付。因此,支付费用的账户需要有足够的_xcRelayChainAsset_。这可以在Moonbeam/Moonriver中通过从传入的XCM信息中收取费用来解决,也就是先以原始区块链上的资产支付,发送到财政库,并使用财政库账户支付信息频道注册费用。

尽管平行链A已经表达其与平行链B之间开启XCM信息频道的意愿,但后者仍未将其是否愿意收取来自平行链A信息的意愿传送至中继链。因此,如要建立一个完整信息频道,平行链B也必须传送函数(也是XCM)至中继链。接受开启信息频道的函数与先前的函数相同。然而,编码调用数据的部分仅需包含新方法(接受信息频道)和初始传送者的平行链ID(在此以平行链A为例)。当两条平行链皆同意后,信息频道将会在下个时段开启。

XCM Channel Registration Overview

以上提到的动作皆能通过SUDO(若可用)或是治理(技术委员会或是公投)执行。

当信息频道已被成功建立,资产需要在通过XCMs转移前进行注册,包含将其以常数的形式加入runtime或是通过pallet进行注册。在Moonbeam上注册资产流程将在下个部分展开解释。

XCM 资产注册

当信息频道已在两条平行链或是中继链与平行链之间建立,即可以进行资产注册。

一般而言,资产注册可以在runtime级别进行,也就是当资产被注册且被XCM支持时,将会需要进行runtime升级。然而,Moonbeam中包括了Substrate pallet,在无需runtime升级的情况下即可处理资产注册,从而简化流程。

当在注册一个XCM资产时,函数需要包含以下部分(除其他事项外):

  • 原始资产所在网络的平行链ID
  • 资产类别。截至本文撰写时,您可以注册原生平行链Token或是使用通过Pallet资产创建资产的相应索引。
  • 资产名称、标志和单位(十进制)
  • 最低额度

在XCM资产成功注册后,将需要设定每秒的执行单位,此为在目标平行链执行未来XCM信息的费用参数,类似于以太坊系的gas费。然而,此费用可以用其他Token支付,如:DOT。如果通过XCM转移的Token数量无法负担XCM执行,则会出现交易失败,已花费的费用也不会退回。

当信息频道建立成功,XCM资产已经在目标平行链中成功注册,也已经设定完毕每秒的执行单位,则用户应当能够开始转移资产。

以上提到的动作皆能通过SUDO(若可用)或是治理(技术委员会或是公投)执行。

Moonbeam和XCM

Moonbeam作为波卡生态系统中的平行链,其中最重要的XCM实现是使波卡和其他平行链的资产转移至Moonbeam,这将能够使用户将其Token带入Moonbeam以及其他dApp中。

为扩展至Moonbeam独特的以太坊兼容功能,外部资产将会通过预编译合约以标准的ERC-20接口形式呈现。Moonbeam上的XCM资产将会被称为XC-20以与通过EVM产生的原生XCM资产区分。预编译合约将会使用适当的Substrate功能以执行要求动作。然而,以开发者的眼光来看,XC-20为具有XCM跨链资产优势的ERC-20 Token,dApp也将能以熟悉的ERC-20接口支持他们。

Moonbeam XC-20 XCM Integration With Polkadot

预编译本身并不支持跨链转账尽量保持与原始ERC-20接口相同。所以,开发者将会需要仰赖Substrate API和XCM将其资产转移回原先转入的链,或是在不同的预编译合约使用来自以太坊API的XCM基础功能。

根据目标区块链的不同,资产转移可以通过传送(Teleporting)和远程转移的方式进行,后者是最常使用的方法。目前,Moonbeam仅支持远程转移。

以下的段落将会提供两个Moonbeam上XCM最初用例的概览:Moonbeam和波卡间的资产转移(通过VMP)和平行链之间的资产转移(通过XCMP)。此文章将会在更多互操作功能启用时更新,如Moonbeam上的ERC-20功能转移至其他平行链,或是其他资产以ERC-20的形式转入Moonbeam。

Moonbeam与波卡

Moonbeam作为波卡生态系统中的平行链,XCM + VMP的组合将能够使DOT在两者之间自由转换。此部分将会提供所有关于执行流程中的步骤和概览。

当项目以平行链的形式接入,中继链则会自动与平行链拥有双向的信息频道,因此不需要进行任何的注册。然而,中继链的原生Token仍然需要在平行链上注册。

今天Alice(波卡)希望从波卡转移一定数量的DOT至Moonbeam上的账户,称为Alith。因此,她使用一个XCM来表达她的意图。在此转账中,Moonbeam拥有在波卡上的主权账户。

所以,在波卡上的XCM信息执行将会转移特定数量的DOT至Moonbeam于波卡上的主权账户。当资产成功存入后,信息的第二部分将会被传送至Moonbeam。

Moonbeam将会原地执行XCM信息内包含的指定动作。在此例子中为铸造和转帐同样数量的xcDOT(跨链DOT)至Alice指定的账户,也就是Alith。在目标区块链上执行XCM的费用已经在转移资产时使用部分资产支付(在此示例中为_xcDOT_)。

Transfers from the Relay Chain to Moonbeam

请注意以下重点:

  • Alice和Alith可以是不同账户。举例而言,波卡账户为SR25519(或是ED25519)格式,而Moonbeam为ECDSA(以太坊格式)账户。两者也可以属于不同所有者
  • 此流程包含一定程度的信任,因一条链将会仰赖另外一条链以执行其XCM信息的一部分。这将会在runtime级别上进行排序,因此可以轻易验证
  • 在此示例中,跨链DOT(xcDOT)是Moonbeam在波卡上的主权账户所持有DOT的包装形式。xcDOT将能够随时在Moonbeam进行转账以及以1:1的形式兑换初始存入的DOT

Alith将其xcDOT存入流动性矿池。接着,Charleth需要更多xcDOT,于是在流动性池进行兑换,他希望转移一些xcDOT至其波卡账户。因此,他发起XCM信息以表达其意图。

接着,在Moonbeam上执行的XCM信息将会销毁一定数量的xcDOT。当资产已被销毁,信息的第二部分将会被传送至波卡。

波卡将会执行XCM信息内包含的指定动作。在此示例中为自Moonbeam主权账户转移与销毁的xcDOT数量相同的DOT至Charleth指定的账户,在此示例中被称为Charley。

Transfers Back from Moonbeam to the Relay Chain

Moonbeam与其他平行链

Moonbeam作为波卡生态中的平行链,XCM + XCMP的组合使资产能够在Moonbeam与其他平行链之间自由转移。此段落将会包含这与Moonbeam和波卡之间XCM的最大不同。

首先,两个平行链间必须存在一个信息频道,且将要转移的资产必须已经在目标链上注册。当符合两个条件后,XCM才能在两条平行链间传递。

接着,当Alith(Moonbeam)自Moonbeam转移一定数量的GLMR至目标链上的账户(Alice)时,Token将会被转移至目标链在Moonbeam上拥有的主权账户。

由于XCM信息为在目标平行链上执行,因此将会铸造并转移同样数量的xcGLMR(跨链GLMR)至Alith指定的地址,在此示例中为Alice。XCM信息在目标平行链的执行费用以在转移资产时使用部分资产支付(此示例为xcGLMR)。

Transfers from Moonbeam to another Parachain

xcGLMR转回Moonbeam的流程与上述流程相似。首先,XCM信息执行将会销毁返回至Moonbeam的xcGLMR数量。当成功销毁后,XCM信息剩余的部分将会通过中继链传送至Moonbeam。Moonbeam将会原地执行XCM信息并转移GLMR(销毁的xcGLMR数量)从目标链的主权账户至指定地址。

Skip to content

Cross-Consensus Messaging (XCM)

XCM Overview Banner

Introduction

Polkadot's architecture allows parachains to natively interoperate with each other, enabling cross-blockchain transfers of any type of data or asset.

To do so, a Cross-Consensus Message (XCM) format defines a language around how the message transfer between two interoperating blockchains should be performed. XCM is not specific to Polkadot, as it aims to be a generic and extensible language between different consensus systems.

Polkadot implements two cross-consensus or transport protocols for acting on XCM messages between its constituent parachains, Moonbeam being one of them:

  • Vertical Message Passing (VMP) — divided into two kinds of message-passing transport protocols:

    • Upward Message Passing (UMP) — allows parachains to send messages to their relay chain, for example, from Moonbeam to Polkadot
    • Downward Message Passing (DMP) — allows the relay chain to pass messages down to one of their parachains, for example, from Polkadot to Moonbeam
  • Cross-Chain Message Passing (XCMP) — allows two parachains to exchange messages as long as they are connected to the same relay chain. Cross-chain transactions are resolved using a simple queuing mechanism based on a Merkle tree to ensure fidelity. Collators exchange messages between parachains, while the relay chain validators will verify that the message transmission happened

Note

Currently, while XCMP is being developed, there is a stop-gap protocol implemented called Horizontal Relay-routed Message Passing (HRMP), in which the messages are stored in and read from the relay chain. This will be deprecated in the future for the full XCMP implementation

Vertical Message Passing and Cross-chain Messge Passing Overview

Furthermore, the two most common use-cases for XCM messages, at least in the early stages of its implementations, are:

  • Asset Teleporting — consists of moving an asset from one blockchain to another by destroying the amount being transferred in the origin chain and creating a clone (same amount as destroyed) on the target chain. In such cases, each chain holds the native asset as reserve, similar to a burn-mint bridging mechanism. The model requires a certain degree of trust, as any of the two chains could maliciously mint more assets
  • Remote Transfers — consists of moving an asset from one blockchain to another via an intermediate account in the origin chain that is trustlessly owned by the target chain. This intermediate account is known as the "Sovereign" account. In such cases, the origin chain asset is not destroyed but held by the Sovereign account. The XCM execution in the target chain mints a wrapped (also referred to as "virtual" or "cross-chain" asset) representation to a target address. The wrapped representation is always interchangeable on a 1:1 basis with the native asset. This is similar to a lock-mint / burn-unlock bridging mechanism

Asset Teleporting and Remote Transfers

A much more detailed article about XCM can be found in the Polkadot Wiki.

Initially, Moonbeam will only support remote transfers. All cross-chain assets on Moonbeam will be known as xc + TokenName. For example, Kusama's KSM representation on Moonriver will be known as xcKSM. You can read more about the XC-20 standard here.

Developers must understand that sending incorrect XCM messages can result in the loss of funds. Consequently, it is essential to test XCM features on a TestNet before moving to a production environment.

Channel Registration

Before two chains can start communicating, a messaging channel must be opened. Channels are unidirectional, meaning that a channel from chain A to chain B will only pass messages from A to B. Consequently, asset transfers will be possible only from chains A to B. Therefore, two channels must be opened to send messages (or transfer assets) back and forth.

A channel for XCMs between the relay chain and parachain is automatically opened when a connection is established. However, when parachain A wants to open a communication channel with parachain B, parachain A must send an open channel extrinsic in its network. This extrinsic is an XCM as well! The recipient of this XCM is the relay chain, and the extrinsic includes information such as:

  • The destination where the message will be executed (relay chain in this case)
  • The account that will pay the fees (paid in the relay chain token)
  • Fees that the transaction can consume when executed
  • Encoded call data, obtained by mimicking the extrinsic on the relay chain. This includes the following encoded information:
    • Method to be called in the relay chain (open channel)
    • Parachain ID of the target chain (parachain B in this example)
    • Maximum number of messages in the destination queue
    • Maximum size of the messages to be sent

The transaction fees are paid in the cross-chain (xc) representation of the relay chain asset (xcRelayChainAsset). For example, for Kusama/Moonriver, the transaction fees would be paid in xcKSM. Therefore, the account paying for the fees must have enough xcRelayChainAsset. This might be tackled in Moonbeam/Moonriver by having fees from incoming XCM messages, which are paid in the origin chain asset, sent to the treasury, and using the treasury account to pay for the channel registration extrinsic.

Even though parachain A has expressed its intentions of opening an XCM channel with parachain B, the latter has not signaled to the relay chain its intentions to receive messages from parachain A. Therefore, to have an established channel, parachain B must also send an extrinsic (which is also an XCM) to the relay chain. The accepting channel extrinsic is similar to the previous one. However, the encoded call data only includes the new method (accept channel) and the parachain ID of the sender (parachain A in this example). Once both parachains have agreed, the channel is opened within the next epoch change.

XCM Channel Registration Overview

All the actions mentioned above can be executed via SUDO (if available), or through Democracy (technical committee or referenda).

Once the channel is established, assets need to be registered before being transferred through XCMs, either by being baked into the runtime as a constant, or through a pallet. The asset registration process for Moonbeam is explained in the next section.

XCM Asset Registration

Once a channel is established between parachains (or relay chain-parachain), asset registration can occur.

In general, asset registration can happen at a runtime level, which means that a runtime upgrade is required, after which the asset is now registered and supported by XCM. However, Moonbeam included a Substrate pallet to handle asset registration without the need for runtime upgrades, making the process a lot simpler.

When registering an XCM asset, the extrinsic must include (among other things):

  • Parachain ID of where the origin asset is located
  • Type of asset. At the time of writing, you can register either the native parachain token or an asset created via the Pallet Assets, by providing its index
  • An asset name, symbol, and decimal count
  • Minimum balance

After the XCM asset is registered, the units per second of execution may be set. This is a metric used to charge the incoming XCM message for its execution in the target parachain, similar to gas fees in the Ethereum world. Nevertheless, fees can be charged in another token, for example, DOT. If the amount of tokens being sent via the XCM is not enough to cover the XCM execution, the XCM transaction fails, and the spent fee is not refunded.

Once the channel has been successfully established, the XCM asset registered in the target parachain, and the units per second of execution set, users should be able to start transferring assets.

All the actions mentioned above can be executed via SUDO (if available), or through Democracy (technical committee or referenda).

Moonbeam and XCM

As Moonbeam is a parachain within the Polkadot ecosystems, one of the most direct implementations of XCM is to enable asset transfer from Polkadot and other parachains from/to Moonbeam. This will allow users to bring their tokens to Moonbeam and all its dApps.

Expanding on Moonbeam's unique Ethereum compatibility features, foreign assets will be represented via a standard ERC-20 interface through a precompiled contract. XCM assets on Moonbeam are called XC-20s, to differentiate native XCM assets from ERC-20 generated via the EVM. The precompile contract will access the necessary Substrate functions to perform the required actions. Nevertheless, from a developer's perspective, XC-20s are ERC-20 tokens with the added benefit of being a XCM cross-chain asset, and dApps can easily support them through a familiar ERC-20 interface.

Moonbeam XC-20 XCM Integration With Polkadot

The precompile itself does not support cross-chain transfers to stay as close as possible to the original ERC-20 interface. Consequently, developers will have to rely on the Substrate API and XCMs to move the assets back to their original chain, or on a different precompile contract to access XCM based features from the Ethereum API.

Depending on the target blockchain, asset transfers can be done via teleporting or remote transfers, the latter being the most common method used. Initially, Moonbeam will only support remote transfers.

The following sections provide a high-level overview of the two initial use cases for XCM on Moonbeam: asset transfers from/to Polkadot (via VMP) and asset transfers from/to other parachains (via XCMP). This page will be expanded as more interoperability features become available, such as movements of ERC-20 tokens from Moonbeam to other parachains, or movement of other assets to Moonbeam as ERC-20 representations.

Moonbeam & Polkadot

As Moonbeam is a parachain within the Polkadot ecosystem, XCM + VMP allows DOT transfers from/to Polkadot/Moonbeam. This section goes through a high-level overview of all the actions involved during the execution of such XCM messages.

Once a project is onboarded as a parachain it automatically has a bi-directional communication channel with the relay chain. Therefore, there is no need for chain registration. However, the relay chain native token needs to be registered on the parachain.

Alice (Polkadot) wants to transfer a certain amount of DOTs from Polkadot to her account in Moonbeam, named Alith. Therefore, she initiates an XCM that expresses her intentions. For such transfers, Moonbeam owns a Sovereign account on Polkadot.

Consequently, the XCM message execution on Polkadot will transfer the amount of DOTs to Moonbeam's Sovereign account on Polkadot. Once the assets are deposited, the second part of the message is sent to Moonbeam.

Moonbeam will locally execute the action the XCM message is programmed to do. In this case, it is to mint and transfer the same amount of xcDOTs (cross-chain DOTs) to the account defined by Alice, which in this case is Alith. The fee to execute the XCM in the target parachain is paid in the asset being transferred (xcDOTs for this example).

Transfers from the Relay Chain to Moonbeam

Note the following:

  • Alice and Alith accounts can be different. For example, Polkadot's accounts are SR25519 (or ED25519), while Moonbeam's are ECDSA (Ethereum styled) accounts. They can also have different owners
  • There is a certain degree of trust, where one chain relies on the other to execute its part of the XCM message. This is programmed at a runtime level, so it can be easily verified
  • For this example, cross-chain DOTs (xcDOTS) are a wrapped representation of the original DOTs being held in Moonbeam's Sovereign account on Polkadot. xcDOTs can be transferred within Moonbeam at any time, and they can be redeemed for DOTs on a 1:1 basis as well

Alith deposited her xcDOTs in a liquidity pool. Next, Charleth acquires some xcDOTs by swapping against that liquidity pool, and he wants to transfer some xcDOTs to Charley's Polkadot account. Therefore, he initiates an XCM that expresses his intentions.

Consequently, the XCM message execution on Moonbeam will burn the number of xcDOTs. Once the assets are burned, the second part of the message is sent to Polkadot.

Polkadot will execute the action locally the XCM message is programmed to do locally. In this case, it is to transfer the same amount of xcDOTs burned from the Moonbeam Sovereign account to the account defined by Charleth, which in this case is Charley.

Transfers Back from Moonbeam to the Relay Chain

Moonbeam & Other Parachains

As Moonbeam is a parachain within the Polkadot ecosystem, XCM + XCMP allows asset transfers from/to Moonbeam and other parachains. This section goes through a high-level overview of the main differences compared to XCMs from/to Polkadot/Moonbeam.

The first requirement is that a channel between the parachains must exist, and the asset being transferred must be registered in the target parachain. Only when both conditions are met, XCMs can be sent between parachains.

Then, when Alith (Moonbeam) transfers a certain amount of GLMRs from Moonbeam to another account (Alice) in a target parachain, tokens are sent to a Sovereign Account owned by that target parachain on Moonbeam.

As the XCM message is executed in the target parachain, it is expected that this will mint and transfer the same amount of xcGLMRs (cross-chain GLMRs) to the account defined by Alith, which in this case is Alice. The fee to execute the XCM in the target parachain is paid in the transferred asset (xcGLMRs for this example).

Transfers from Moonbeam to another Parachain

The process is similar for xcGLMRs to move back to Moonbeam as explained in the previous section. First, the XCM message execution burns the number of xcGLMRs returned to Moonbeam. Once burned, the remnant part of the message is sent to Moonbeam via the relay chain. Moonbeam will locally execute the XCM message's, and transfer GLMRs (the same amount of burned xcGLMRs) from the target parachain Sovereign account to the specified address.